Red Hot Chili Peppers to be honored with MTV VMA’s Global Icon Award | Music

The Red Hot Chili Peppers have won the 2022 Global Icon Award at the 2022 MTV Video Music Awards (VMAs).

Anthony Kiedis and his colleagues will take the stage to perform and receive the prestigious award at the star-studded ceremony at the Prudential Center in Newark, New Jersey on August 28.

The By The Way rockers – joined by Chad Smith, John Frusciante and Flea – previously won the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award at the 2000 awards ceremony, where they performed ‘Californication’.

The final honor goes to rap megastar Nicki Minaj this year, who said: “I’m receiving the 2022 Vanguard Video Award. My performance is Sunday, August 28 at 8pm on @MTV.”

Along with picking up the gong, the ‘Super Freaky Girl’ star will take to the stage alongside the likes of Anitta, J Balvin, Marshmello x Khalid and Panic! At The Disco, Maneskin and Jack Harlow.

Bruce Gilmer, Paramount’s President of Music, Music Talent, Programming and Events and Music for Paramount COO said, “Nicki broke barriers for women in hip-hop with her versatility and creativity. She changed the music industry and cemented her status as a global superstar with her crossover appeal, genre-defying style, and continues to be unapologetically ‘Nicki’.

Elsewhere, Harry Styles received six nominations.

The How It Was hitmaker is up for multiple gongs at the ceremony, including Artist of the Year and Best Video for his aforementioned hit.

Doja Cat is also up for six awards, but Lil Nas X, Jack Harlow and Kendrick Lamar lead the way with seven nominations.

Drake, Ed Sheeran, Billie Eilish, Dua Lipa, Taylor Swift and The Weeknd are up for five awards each.

Meanwhile, Madonna made history by becoming the only artist to be nominated in every decade since the VMAs were first held in 1984.

The Queen of Pop is the most awarded female artist in VMA history, and “Madame X” secured her 69th career nomination.

This year, there are 26 first-time nominees, including Kacey Musgraves and Maneskin.

This year’s VMAs will air starting at 8 p.m. on MTV, CW, BET, BET Her, CMT, Comedy Central, Logo, MTV2, Nickelodeon, Paramount Network, Pop, TVLand and VH1.


Back to top button